How can I pay for my course?

There are a range of payment options available for you.  Payment may be by personal cheque (payable to Maxam Training Ltd) or by most debit and credit cards via a secure on-line payment link. BACS payment is also available.

The Level 4 Certificate in Education and Training and the Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training courses may also be paid for in three instalments.  Full details of this option are available on request.


What is ELCAS funding?

ELCAS is the MOD’s Enhanced Learning Credits Scheme (ELC) which promotes lifelong learning amongst members of the Armed Forces by providing financial support in the form of a single up-front payment in each of a maximum of three separate financial years. ELC funding is only available for the pursuit of higher level learning i.e. for courses that result in a nationally recognised qualification at Level 3 or above on the National Qualifications Framework (NQF) (England, Northern Ireland and Wales) or a Level six or above on the Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF).

Maxam Training Ltd is an approved ELCAS training provider. Our ELCAS Learning Provider Identification Number is 4749.  All our teacher training and NVQ assessor training courses whether face to face courses or distance learning / online learning are available for ELCAS funding.  For more details, visit our ‘ELCAS Funding’ page, or visit the ELCAS website by clicking here.


What has happened to PTLLS?

PTLLS, or the Award in Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector was replaced in 2013 by the ‘new’ Level 3 Award in Education and Training (AET) qualification.  At the same time, CTLLS was replaced by the Level 4 Certificate in Education and Training and DTLLS was replaced with the Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training.

All the new teaching courses are very similar in nature to the former qualifications, however the Award, Certificate and Diploma in Education and Training have revised units which better reflect the role of a teacher or trainer in the FE and Skills sector of education which includes work-based learning.


What is a micro-teach?

A micro-teach is your opportunity to put your knowledge and skills into practice by delivering a training session to you fellow learners on the Level 3 Award in Education and Training Course (formerly known as PTLLS).  How to plan for, prepare and deliver your micro-teach is fully explained in the course material.

Why not watch the related video below by the author Anne Gravells.


When will the QCF be replaced by the RQF?

Ofqual has announced the the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF) comes into force on the 1st October 2015 and will then replace the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) .  The main difference is that the RQF will allow awarding organisations more freedom to design their qualifications and if preferred, to move away from the current ‘Award’, ‘Certificate’ and ‘Diploma’ titles.  However the RQF levels will remain the same as those of the QCF. A general comparison of these levels to other qualifications would be:

  • 1 – GCSEs (grades D-G)
  • 2 – GCSEs (grade A*-C), Intermediate Apprenticeship
  • 3 – Advanced level (A level), Advanced Apprenticeship
  • 4 – Vocational Qualification level 4, Higher Apprenticeship
  • 5 – Vocational Qualification level 5, Foundation Degree
  • 6 – Bachelors Degree
  • 7 – Masters Degree, Postgraduate Certificate and Diploma
  • 8 – Doctor of Philosophy (DPhil or PhD).

For a full explanation of how the new RQF will operate, visit the relevant pages of the Ofqual site by clicking here.


How do I obtain QTLS status?

 QTLS stands for Qualified Teacher Learning and Skills. Gaining QTLS status gives you the same standing as a teacher as those with Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) which is attained through the Post Graduate Certificate in Education (PGCE) teacher training route.

In order to gain QTLS status, you must achieve a relevant teaching qualification of at least level 5 (i.e. Diploma in Education and Training/DTLLS/Cert Ed).  Having gained your teaching qualification you will then apply to the Society for Education and Training (SET) to under go a process called ‘Professional Formation’ . Professional formation is a process that enables you to provide evidence that demonstrates your effective use of skills and knowledge in your area of professional teaching practice. For full details about how to gain QTLS, please visit the relevant pages of the SET website by clicking here.


Want to enrol onto any of our course, or just need more information?  Please place your details in our contact form below and we will get straight back to you.

Maxam Training Ltd

Address: Cam Wood Fold, Clayton-le-Woods, Chorley, Lancashire PR6 7SD

Phone: 01772 492197

Email: info@maxamtraining.com